Back to Glossary
FHA Loan
January 19, 2023
The FHA, or Federal Housing Administration, insures mortgages made by FHA-approved lenders. In the United States and its territories, FHA guarantees these loans on single-family and multi-family homes. It is the world's largest insurer of residential mortgages, having insured tens of millions of properties since its inception in 1934. - A FICO® score of at least 580 equals a 3.5 percent down payment. - A FICO® score between 500 and 579 equals a 10% down payment. - The payment of MIP (Mortgage Insurance Premium) is necessary. - The debt-to-income ratio is 43 percent. - The borrower's primary residence must be the property. - Borrowers must have a consistent source of income and confirmation of employment.
Related Topics
10 Best Home Builders in Nashville, TN: Find Your Dream Home Today
Wesley Mortgage 2023 Year-In-Review
What Is a Property Tax Lien
What Is an Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM)?
Navigating the Process of Mortgage Modification
What Is Non-Recourse Lending?
What Is a Short Sale?
When Is the First Mortgage Payment Due?