Back to Glossary
Federal Housing Administration (FHA)
January 19, 2023
The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) is a branch of the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development. We offer mortgage insurance on loans originated by FHA-approved lenders. We guarantee mortgages on single-family houses, multifamily complexes, residential care facilities, and hospitals throughout the United States and its territories. Lenders are protected from losses through FHA mortgage insurance. If a property owner falls behind on their mortgage payments, we will claim against the lender for the unpaid principal sum. Lenders may give more mortgages to homebuyers since they are taking on less risk. Loans must meet specific criteria to qualify for insurance.
Related Topics
10 Best Home Builders in Nashville, TN: Find Your Dream Home Today
Wesley Mortgage 2023 Year-In-Review
What Is a Property Tax Lien
What Is an Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM)?
Navigating the Process of Mortgage Modification
What Is Non-Recourse Lending?
What Is a Short Sale?
When Is the First Mortgage Payment Due?